Today we had a meeting to finalise the default options for Keyman Desktop 8.0, and determine how we would migrate option settings when upgrading from earlier versions of Keyman Desktop. For those of you who are interested, I reproduce the table below. Any comments or suggestions are always welcomed!

Option

Clean Install

Upgrade from 6/7

Upgrade from 8

Toggle Hotkeys

Yes

Migrate

Preserve

AltGr Simulation

No

Migrate

Preserve

Show hint messages

Yes

Migrate

Preserve

Universal Keyboard Switch

Yes

Yes

Preserve

Startup

Start with Windows 1

Yes

Migrate

Preserve

Show Start Screen

Yes

Yes

Preserve

Show Welcome Screen

Deleted

Auto Update Check 1

Yes

Migrate

Preserve

Conflicting App Check

Yes

Migrate

Preserve

On Screen Keyboard

Release modifiers after key

No

Migrate

Preserve

Always show OSK when keyboard selected

No

No

Preserve

Switch to OSK/Usage auto

Yes

Migrate | Yes

Preserve

Show OSK on startup

Yes

Yes

Preserve

Advanced

Supplementary Chars

No

Migrate

Preserve

Enable Unknown Language

Deleted

Debugging

No

No

Preserve

Switch Win lang with kbd

Yes

Yes

Preserve

Uniscribe Manager

No

Migrate

Preserve

Hotkeys

Switch keyboard off

Alt+Shift+O

Migrate | Alt+Shift+O 2

Preserve

Open Keyboard Menu

Alt+Shift+M

Migrate | Alt+Shift+M 2

Preserve

Open Switch Lang Window

Alt + Left Shift

Alt + Left Shift

Preserve

Show On Screen Keyboard

Alt+Shift+K

Migrate | Alt+Shift+K 2

Preserve

Show Usage

Preserve

Show Font Helper

Preserve

Show Character Map

Preserve

Open Text Editor

Preserve

Open Configuration

Preserve

 

1 These options are configurable via the bootstrap installer – the default in the installer will be read from the existing installation settings for the currently logged-in user.

2 The intent for the hotkeys when upgrading from version 6 or 7 is to set the default hotkeys as per the table, unless another hotkey has already been configured by the user.

Notes: Migrate means copy the setting from the previous version settings; Preserve means keep the setting that is currently configured. Where a previous version does not have a specific option (e.g. Uniscribe Manager was introduced in 7.1, so an upgrade from 7.0 would not have a setting for the Uniscribe Manager), the default is copied from the “Clean Install” option.

We have had to switch on comment moderation due to an unwelcome influx of comment spam – rest assured we will publish any comments that are relevant to the posts as quickly as we can – we are not trying to censor your views on Keyman Desktop!


0 thoughts on “Keyman Desktop 8.0 Default Options”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts

Developing Keyman

Keyman 11.0 is now available

We have just released Keyman 11.0 for Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS and web, as well as Keyman Developer, the keyboard development suite. Keyman for Linux is entirely new for version 11. For the other Read more…

Developing Keyman

Keyman Roadmap – February 2019

Introduction to the Roadmap This blog post contains the February 2019 update to our roadmap for Keyman. This roadmap depends very much on the resources available to our team, and it will change over time. Read more…

Developing Keyman

Keyman 11.0 beta

We are pleased to announce the launch of the beta version of Keyman 11 on all platforms. A beta release is a version of Keyman where we believe the features we have been working on Read more…